Ok so it’s been a few days. And I havent been super into cooking lately. It’s too hot to have the oven and stove on all crazy…and to be honest I’m just exhausted. My son’s new thing is waking up at 4am…..AWESOME. So basically by the time going home rolls around…I’m BEAT!

So yesterday was the first day of summer. I dunno what it is about summertime and relationships. It’s like people’s subconscious says,’It’s summer…..time to be single’. I’ve noticed a lot of relationships either ending or not doing to well in the last few days. I’m not sure what it is but it def is puzzling. I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that my family will make it haha!!

Ok so back to my ‘culinary journey’. Last night I managed to muster up some gusto and actually cook. Good ole’ faithful Pelau. The boys love it and it’s jus something that’s easy and quick. Surprisingly. Sooo…this is my recipe for Pelau.

-1 lb of chicken

-2 tbs of green seasoning

-1tbs of Worcestershire sauce

-1tbs of soy sauce

-2tbs of ketchup

-1tbs of garlic salt

-1tbs of oil

-2tbs of sugar

-2 cups of rice (or however much you want) washed

-1/2 can of pigeon peas

-3/4 can of coconut milk

-1 chicken buillion (i like to use the maggi)

1) First step is to marinate the chicken (at least a 1/2 hr) Put the chicken with the green seasoning, garlic salt, ketchup, Worcestershire saucesoy sauce. Stir together

2) ‘Burn the sugar’- put the oil in a pot (preferably with a cover so it doesnt get too splashy with the hot oil)

3)add the sugar and leave it until it turns dark brown and beings to bubble-The color at that point should almost look like a deep deep red

4) add the chicken to cover the bottom of the pot. cover immediately the hot oil will splash. Leave for about 15 min or until the chicken is cooked on the bottom, then flip it to cook the other side

5)remove the chicken

6) add rice (free of water)  and pigeon peas and fry them in the liquid until it sticks together

7)add coconut milk, buillion and enough water to cover rice about 1-2 in

8)put the chicken back in the pot and cover

9) stir through out to evenly distribute the buillion cube and make sure no rice sticks to the pot

10) I usually turn off the heat and let my rice steam once there is only a small amount of liquid left in the pot.

11) once the rice is done to desired consistency, serve with cole slaw or whatever other side dish you like

This is the cole slaw recipe that my family likes to go with the pelau

-1/2 head of cabbage shredded or chopped

-1 shredded carrot

(you can also use the cole slaw from a bag. I like to use that because I use the leftovers to put in my lo-mein)

-1/2 cup of golden raisins

-1-2 tbs of mayo

-1-2 tbs of mustard (honey mustard also saves a fraction of a second too)

-1 tsp of vinegar

1-tsp of sugar

1) mix everything together! And serve.

Well hope this recipe works out for anyone that tries it. My family loves it. Hope yours does too!